Principal Curators

EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan have curated exhibitions at the Tree Museum (Muskoka/Ontario) as well as off-site locations since 1998. During this period, Lightman and O’Callaghan researched and met with artists and galleries across Ontario, Asia and Mexico. As well as inviting artists, they worked alongside to create the work, providing support and advice on installation techniques, site selection and, in many cases, assisting artists conceptually.
For both Lightman and O’Callaghan, the Tree Museum was a totally immersive project. They wrote essays and dug ditches, repaired roads and produced press releases/promoted the exhibitions and artists.

An Exhibition History 1998-2019:

2019 Badanna Zack and Deeter Hastenteufel
Curator EJ Lightman.

2016 Deeter Hastenteufel, Romy Lightman and Yves Jarvis.
Curator EJ Lightman.

2013 Easy Come, Easy Go, a Tree Museum Off Site Exhibition, @ The Art of Gallery of Peterborough, Peterborough, Ontario.
Featured artists: Rebecca Armstrong, Jocelyne Belcourt Salem, Michel Boucher, Maralynn Cherry, John Dickson, Deeter Hastenteufel, Roger Henriques, Francis LeBouthillier, E.J. Lightman, Dyan Marie, Anne O'Callaghan, Heather Phillips, Ed Pien, Reinhard Reitzenstein, Margaret Rodgers, Lyla Rye, Meghan Scott, Jordy Steinberg, Penelope Stewart, Orest Tataryn, Jeannie Thib, Tim Whiten, Gayle Young, Badanna Zack and Johannes Zits.
Curator EJ Lightman.
2012 Mary Anne Barkhouse, Warren Quigely, Millie Chen, Eve Egoyan & Gareth Lichty (Canada) Alicia Marvan (Mexico)
Curator: EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan. Writers Gayle Young and Simone Jones.
The Tree Museum-Off-site, Artscape Gibraltar Point, Alica Marvan, Johannes Zits and Anne O’Callaghan- Performance and Video Presentation.
Culture Days Ontaro, Johannes Zits, Performance, curated Anne O’Callaghan.

2011 Sarah Peebles, Anitra Hamilton, Mike Hansen, Gordon Monahan. Ken Gregory, Eric Woodley
Curator Earl Miller, Essay by Earl Miller.

2010 Penelope Stewart, Jeannie Thib (Ontario), Bev Hogg,Trish Roan
Curator: EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan, Guest curator Barbara McConchie, Craft ACT, Canberra Australia.
Essays by Earl Miller, and Marlynn Cherry.

2009 Ed Pien and Dyan Marie
Curator: EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan.
Essays by Terrance Heath & Tila Kellman.

2008 Video Night: Sebastian Burdach (Hamburg/German). Alison S. M. Kobayashi, and David Rokeby (Ontario), Darlene Naponse (Ojibway, Whitefish Lake First Nation, Ontario).
Guest curator Orest Tataryn.

Installations: Lisa Neighbour, Orest Tataryn and Walter Willems, Ontario.
Curator: EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan.
Essays by Kim Simon, and Margaret Rogers.

2007 Wen-Chih Wang, (Taiwan), Jaffa Laam Lam, (Hong Kong) Michael Belmore, Noel Harding and E.J. Lightman (all Ontario).
Persona Volare- interventions featuring works by Carlo Cesta, Michael Davey, John Dickson, Rebecca Diederichs, Brian Hobbs, Lorna Mills, Lisa Neighbour, Chantal Rousseau, Lyla Rye, Kate Wilson, and Johannes Zits.
Curator: Anne O’Callaghan.
Essays by Margaret Rogers, Gil McElroy and Ivan Jurakic, (Curator)

Off Site Exhibitions:
Persona Volare @ Exhibition Venues, York Quay Centre, Harbourfront.
Harbourfront Centre Exhibition Curator: Patrick Macaulay and the Tree Museum Collective.
Jaffa Laam Lam, Wen-Chih Wang, Taiwan, @ OCAD.

2006 Peter von Tiesenhausen, Kelly Mark and Diane Borsato.
Curator: David Liss (MOCCA)- Essay by David Liss.

2005 Nancy Paterson, Barry Prophet, John Dickson and Performance by Janice Pomer and Barry Prophet.
Curator: EJ Lightman.
Essay by Tila Kellman.

2004 E.J Lightman, Ryzard Litwiniuk, Catherine Widgery and Simon Frank.
Curator: Anne O’Callaghan.
Essays by John Grande and Daniel Baird.

2003 T.S. Anand (U.S.A), Anne-Marie Beneteau, Christy Thompson, Francesca Vivenza and Marguerite Larmand.
Curator: EJ Lightman.
Essay by Gil McElroy.

2002 Ellen Dijkstra (Holland), Lyla Rye (Ontario), Wilson Chik, Performance Artist (Hong Kong) and Janice Pomer and Barry Prophet (Ontario).
Curator: Anne O’Callaghan.
Essay By Dot Tuer (Ontario) and Betty Chung (Hong Kong)

2001 Lois Andison and Simone Jones (a collaborative work) and Reinhard Reitzenstein.
Curator: EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan.
Essays by David Liss and Christy Thompson.

2000 Jocelyne Belcourt Salem, Deeter Hastenteufel, Francis LeBouthillier and Tim Whiten.
Curator: EJ Lightman and Anne O’Callaghan.
Essays by Anne O’Callaghan, Badanna Zack and EJ Lightman.

1999 Lynn Campbell, Gwen MacGregor, Anne O’Callaghan, Tim Whiten and Robert Wiens.
Curator: EJ Lightman.
Essays for 1998/1999 by Carolyn Bell Farrell.

1998 Anne O’Callaghan, Tim Whiten and Badanna Zack.
Curator: EJ Lightman.
Essays for 1998/1999 by Carolyn Bell Farrell.